Kudos to our Champions

As the season comes to a close, it is time to pay tribute to all the brilliant races, record-breaking achievements and magnificent performances of our racing heroes.

Amid the challenges of COVID-19, the fine tradition of Hong Kong racing has continued - with precautions in place - at Happy Valley and Sha Tin Racecourses each week. As this remarkable season enters the home stretch, we will deliver further thrills and excitement with two events: the Season Finale racedays on Sunday, 12 July at Sha Tin Racecourse and Wednesday, 15 July at Happy Valley Racecourse, both featuring full race cards, followed by the Champion Awards presentation ceremony on Thursday, 16 July at Rosewood Hong Kong.

The Champion Awards will hand out 14 trophies, including Horse of the Year, Champion Trainer, Champion Jockey, Champion Miler, Champion Middle-distance Horse, Champion Sprinter and Champion Stayer, as well as Most Popular Horse and Jockey of the Year.

Both the Champion Awards and the Season Finale are great ways to celebrate the many successes of a historic season and to honour the paramount accomplishments of our racing heroes.

2019/20 Champion Moments

4 December 2019
Karis Teetan wins his first LONGINES International Jockeys’ Championship at Happy Valley Racecourse.

19 January
World-class sprinter Beat The Clock (爭分奪秒) takes two G1s in the same season.

16 February
Joao Moreira collects his fifth G1 race of the season by nailing the Citi Hong Kong Gold Cup with Time Warp (馬克羅斯).

22 March
Golden Sixty (金鎗六十) becomes only the second horse to achieve a clean sweep in the Four-Year-Old Classic Series, with homegrown team Vincent Ho and Francis Lui combining for victory.

5 April
Beauty Generation (美麗傳承), the World’s Best Miler in 2019, extends his record prize money to more than HK$100 million with his 18th victory, equalling Silent Witness’ (精英大師) career haul.

26 April
Homegrown jockey Vincent Ho wins the FWD Champions Mile on Southern Legend (川河尊駒), edging out Beauty Generation to claim his first G1 victory. Zac Purton wins the FWD QEII Cup with Exultant (時時精綵), becoming the first rider in history to win all 12 of Hong Kong’s currently designated G1 races.

24 May
Exultant, last season’s Champion Stayer and Champion Middle-distance Horse, earns back-to-back G1 victories in the FWD QEII Cup and Standard Chartered Champions & Chater Cup.